Queen’s Birthday 2020 Honours List

Queen’s Birthday 2020 Honours List

Cricket Australia congratulates everyone that has been recognised in the Queen’s Birthday 2020 Honours List, especially those from within the cricketing community.

Michael Clarke was named an Officer in the General Division of the Order of Australia (AO) “for distinguished service to cricket as a player at the national and international level, through leadership roles, and to the community.”

Clarke represented Australia in 115 Tests for Australia and captained Australia in 47 of those tests, making him the sixth most capped skipper in Australian cricketing history. He is Australia’s fourth highest Test run-scorer and at his peak Clarke was ranked the best Test batsman in the world. 

Clarke famously led Australia to a 5-0 series whitewash over England in the 2013-14 summer to regain the Ashes and also captained Australia to the 2015 World Cup title. He is part of a very small cricketing club, with Wally Hammond and Don Bradman, as the only men to score a triple-century and a double-hundred in the same series. Clarke also won the Allan Border Medal four times.

Lynette Larsen was named a Member in the General Division of the Order of Australia (AM) “for significant service to cricket as a player, selector, manager and coach at the elite level.”

Larsen played 64 matches for Australia from 1984-1992, averaged 41 in Test Cricket and captained Australia 53 times across Tests and One Day Internationals, which included winning the Women's Cricket World Cup in 1988. She has also made a significant contribution to the game and the community as an administrator at all levels from grass roots to international. 

Larsen was instrumental at the international level with the International Women’s Cricket Council, and was a key driver of the integration of the IWCC with the (men’s) International Cricket Council, which has been a catalyst for huge growth in the women’s game, as integration was at State and national level in Australia.

Cricket Australia also congratulates the Hon. Alan Ferguson and Dr Douglass Lording for being named a Member in the General Division of the Order of Australia (AM)) of the Queen's Birthday 2020 Honours List.

In addition to Clarke, Larsen, The Hon. Alan Ferguson, Rosen and Lording, 10 prominent members of the cricket community received the Medal of the Order of Australia in the General Division (OAM).

Mervyn Bailey, Kevan Carroll, Gerard Price, and Gary Somerville received an OAM ‘for service to cricket.”

John Coutis, Colin Anderson, Brian Hassett, Bruce Meyer, Edna Pennicott and Rex Wilson all received OAMs recognising their service to the communities of Ballarat, West Wimmera, Kingborough, Tasmania, across sport, medicine, local government and education which also included their work in the cricket community.

Kevin Roberts, Cricket Australia CEO said: “On behalf of the Australian Cricket family, I congratulate these outstanding women and men who have served Australian cricket from the highest levels through to dedicating their time to developing the game at the grassroots level.

“This list recognises a group of outstanding Australians who have made a significant contribution to their community in varied roles across playing, coaching, medicine, music, education, local government and volunteering. 

“These individuals are the lifeblood of the community they live and work in and we are delighted to see that they are to be recognised for their great service to the game. Cricket is a richer game because of them. I wish to extended my sincere congratulations to everyone honoured in the Queen's Birthday 2020 Honours List."